Skip to main content

Joint Reviews and reports

HIW works closely with other regulators and inspectorates in Wales, and also with other inspectorates across the UK.

During the course of our assurance work in Wales, we work closely with Care Inspectorate Wales (CIW), Estyn and Audit Wales. The Well-being of Future Generations (Wales) Act 2015 and Local Government (Wales) Act 2015 supports joint working between the inspection and audit bodies in Wales.

We carried out our assurance check between 13 and 15 February 2024.

Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards – Annual Monitoring Report for Health and Social Care 2022- 23

Key findings and recommendations of our joint review with Care Inspectorate Wales (CIW).

28 February 2024
Joint Inspectorate Review of Child Protection Arrangements (JICPA): Powys 2023

Our findings of the effectiveness of partnership working and the work of individual agencies in Powys.

1 February 2024
Joint Review: How are healthcare, education, and children’s services supporting the mental health needs of children and young people in Wales?

We will be leading a joint review with Care Inspectorate Wales (CIW) and Estyn to explore how healthcare, education and children’s services support the mental health needs of children and young people in Wales.

5 January 2024
Rapid Review of Child Protection Procedures in Wales

A rapid review of child protection procedures across Wales has found that, overall, children’s names are appropriately added to, or removed from, the Child Protection Register in Wales.

28 September 2023
Joint Inspectorate Review of Child Protection Arrangements (JICPA): Bridgend 2023

Our findings of the effectiveness of partnership working and the work of individual agencies in Bridgend.

14 September 2023
Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board - Quality Governance Arrangements Joint Review Follow-up

Audit Wales and Healthcare Inspectorate Wales (HIW) have published a joint report which describes the progress made by Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board in strengthening its quality governance arrangements following our original joint review work in 2019.

24 August 2023
Joint review of child protection arrangements in Wales - interim findings

Care Inspectorate Wales is leading on the joint review with contributions from Healthcare Inspectorate Wales (HIW) and Estyn.

22 June 2023
Joint Inspectorate Review of Child Protection Arrangements (JICPA): Denbighshire 2023

Our findings of the effectiveness of partnership working and the work of individual agencies in Denbighshire.

17 May 2023
National review of the use of Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) in Wales 2021 - 2022

Key findings and recommendations of our joint review with Care Inspectorate Wales (CIW).

7 February 2023