Skip to main content

National reviews and reports

Find details of our national reviews and other reports at the links below

We publish a range of national reviews and other reports every year. 

National reviews help us to evaluate how healthcare services in Wales are delivered.

Mental Health Hospitals, Learning Disability Hospitals and Mental Health Act Monitoring Annual Report 2022-2023

Read the findings from our mental health hospitals, learning disability and Mental Health Act inspections during 2022-2023.

26 January 2024
Joint Review: How are healthcare, education, and children’s services supporting the mental health needs of children and young people in Wales?

We will be leading a joint review with Care Inspectorate Wales (CIW) and Estyn to explore how healthcare, education and children’s services support the mental health needs of children and young people in Wales.

5 January 2024
All Wales Review of Do Not Attempt Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (DNACPR) Decisions

The aim of our review is to consider the practices in place when DNACPR decisions are applied to adult patients (over the age of 18), and whether patient views and considerations are respected.

30 October 2023

We committed to a reviews programme that takes into consideration the risks and challenges facing health services as they continue their response to, and recovery from, the pandemic. As a result, we have decided to undertake a national review of Patient Flow.

Mental Health Hospitals, Learning Disability Hospitals and Mental Health Act Monitoring Annual Report 2021-2022

Read the findings from our mental health hospitals, learning disability and Mental Health Act inspections during 2021-2022.

14 July 2023
National Review of Mental Health Crisis Prevention in the Community

In our Operational Plan 2019-2020, we committed to a programme of national reviews which included crisis in mental health.

10 March 2022
Mental Health Hospitals, Learning Disability Hospitals and Mental Health Act Monitoring Annual Report 2020-2021

Read the findings from our mental health hospitals, learning disability and Mental Health Act inspections during 2020-2021

10 November 2021
Mental Health, Learning Disability Hospitals and Mental Health Act Monitoring Annual Report 2019-2020

Read the findings from our mental health hospitals, learning disability and Mental Health Act inspections during 2019-2020

10 November 2021
COVID-19 National Review

How healthcare services across Wales met the needs of people and maintained their safety during the pandemic.

30 June 2021
Mental Health, Learning Disability Hospitals and Mental Health Act Monitoring Annual Report 2018-2019

Read the findings from our mental health hospitals, learning disability and Mental Health Act inspections during 2018-2019

20 January 2020