Skip to main content

Local reviews and reports

Read local reviews and other reports about NHS health boards or trusts here

We review and inspect local health board and NHS trusts and report on the quality, safety and effectiveness of the healthcare services.

Each year, our annual reports summarise the activity of the health boards carried out between 1 April and 31 March.

Local Review of the Vascular Service, Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board

In line with our NHS service of concern process, in February 2022 we designated the Vascular Services at Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board as a Service Requiring Significant Improvement (SRSI).

29 June 2023
Local Review of Discharge Arrangements for Adult Patients from Inpatient Mental Health Services in Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board

We undertook a local review which will aim to examine the quality of mental health services provided by Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board.

7 March 2023
Local Review of Governance Arrangements at Swansea Bay University Health Board for the Provision of Healthcare services to Her Majesty’s Prison Swansea

We committed to undertake a local review of the quality governance arrangements in place for the provision of healthcare services for Her Majesty’s Prison Swansea, by Swansea Bay University Health Board.

30 June 2022
Review of Patient Safety, Privacy, Dignity and Experience whilst Waiting in Ambulances during Delayed Handover

As part of our annual reviews programme, we committed to undertake a local review of the Welsh Ambulance Services NHS Trust (WAST) during 2020-21.

7 October 2021

We undertook a review to assess how Public Health Wales ensures the breast screening process is managed in a timely way for women who have an abnormal screening mammogram.

Local Review of the Patient Management Arrangements within the Welsh Ambulance Service Trust

Healthcare Inspectorate Wales committed in our Operational Plan 2019-20 to undertaking work in each of Wales’s three NHS Trusts.

30 September 2020
Powys Teaching Health Board Summary 2018–19

Summary of the key themes identified from our programme of inspections within Powys Teaching Health Board throughout 2018–19

16 August 2019
Hywel Dda University Health Board Summary 2018–19

Summary of the key themes identified from our programme of inspections within Hywel Dda University Health Board throughout 2018–19

16 August 2019
Cwm Taf University Health Board Summary 2018–19

Summary of the key themes identified from our programme of inspections within Cwm Taf University Health Board throughout 2018–19

16 August 2019
Cardiff & Vale University Health Board Summary 2018–19

Summary of the key themes identified from our programme of inspections within Cardiff & Vale University Health Board throughout 2018–19

16 August 2019